Kindred Spirits in Reading

June 28 '17Our library staff is wonderfully diverse in age, gender and in our literary pursuits.  This week we have staff members reading everything from science fiction to westerns and nonfiction from the worlds of the Lakota people to videogame culture.

Kindred by Octavia Butler (FIC BUT); Dana, a black woman, finds herself repeatedly transported to the antebellum South, where she must make sure that Rufus, the plantation owner’s son, survives to father Dana’s ancestor.

This is how you lose her by Junot Diaz (FIC DIA); on a beach in the Dominican Republic, a doomed relationship flounders. In the heat of a hospital laundry room in New Jersey, a woman does her lovers washing and thinks about his wife. In Boston, a man buys his love child, his only son, a first baseball bat and glove. At the heart of these stories is the irrepressible, irresistible Yunior, a young hardhead whose longing for love is equaled only by his recklessness-and by the extraordinary women he loves and loses: artistic Alma; the aging Miss Lora; Magdalena, who thinks all Dominican men are cheaters; and the love of his life, whose heartbreak ultimately becomes his own. In prose that is endlessly energetic, inventive, tender, and funny, the stories in This Is How You Lose Her lay bare the infinite longing and inevitable weakness of the human heart. They remind us that passion always triumphs over experience, and that “the half-life of love is forever.”

End of Watch by Stephen King (FIC KIN); In Room 217 of the Lakes Region Traumatic Brain Injury Clinic, something evil has awakened. Brady Hartsfield, perpetrator of the Mercedes Massacre, has been in the clinic for five years in a vegetative state. Behind the drool and stare Brady is awake, and in possession of deadly new powers that allow him to wreak unimaginable havoc without ever leaving his hospital room. Retired police detective Bill Hodges now runs an investigation agency with his partner, Holly Gibney. When they are called to a suicide scene with ties to the Mercedes Massacre, they find their lives at risk– and an entire city in danger.

Console wars: Sega, Nintendo, and the battle that defined a generation by Blake J. Harris (338.7 HAR); “In the tradition of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball, a behind-the-scenes business thriller about how the small, scrappy Sega, led by one unlikely visionary, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and changed the face of entertainment”– Provided by publisher.

Black Elk speaks: being the life story of a holy man of the Oglala Sioux by Nicholas Black Elk with John G. Neihardt (970.2 NEI); the 2017 One Book, One Nebraska selection

A Stranger in Town by William W. Johnstone (PBK J); The train grinds to a halt somewhere in the Indian Nations, and the bandits get onboard. They take everything on the train worth stealing and gun down a guard to make their escape–just another notch on the belt for Ben Trout and Zack Larsen, two of the most savage killers in the west. U.S. Deputy Marshal Ed Pine follows them to Muskogee. There the trail runs cold, and Ed Pine disappears. To save his friend, Deputy Will Tanner rides for Muskogee, where justice extends only as far as the range of a Colt .45. Tanner earned his badge in a blistering gunfight, when he got the drop on a trio of killers and saved the life of another fellow marshal. Now, he have to be just as quick–and just as deadly. To bring in Trout and Larsen, Tanner must set his badge aside, and resort to the law of the gun.

Perfect for You by Candis Terry (PBK T); Meet the Kincade brothers: they’ll do what it takes to protect their legacy-but what happens when love gets in the way? Declan Kincade has spent so much time chasing success he’s almost forgotten how to just live. Lately, though, his all-business routine has been thrown into disarray. Brooke Hastings is the best employee Dec’s ever had: polished, capable, and intelligent. After four years, he’s just realized that she’s also smoking hot. But their working relationship is too valuable to stake on a fling, no matter how mind-bendingly pleasurable it promises to be …What’s worse than never meeting the right man? Finding him, and then working side-by-side every day while he remains absolutely blind to your existence. That is, until one temptation-packed road trip changes everything. Teaching her gorgeous, driven boss how to cut loose and have fun is the toughest challenge Brooke’s ever faced. But it’s one that could give both of them exactly what they need, if Dec will take a chance on a perfect-and perfectly unexpected-love…

No confíes en Peter Pan by John Verdon (FIC VER) “El asesinato de un rico empresario ocurrido tiempo atras es el punto de partida de una compleja red de mentiras que David Gurney debera desentrañar. Y la identidad del asesino resulta ser la más grande de todas las sorpresas.”– from Amazon.com.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt (YAFIC BRU); “In the tradition of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball, a behind-the-scenes business thriller about how the small, scrappy Sega, led by one unlikely visionary, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and changed the face of entertainment”– Provided by publisher.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s